Poetry

Today, by chance, I have been reunited with this beauty. Before going to bed, read something beautiful by Pablo Neruda (Twenty poems of love and one desperate song).

XX

Tonight I can write the most sorrowful lines.

I can write, for example: “The night is star-filled
and the blue stars are shivering in the distance.”

The night wind turns in the sky and sings.

Tonight I can write the most sorrowful lines.
I loved her then, and sometimes she loved me back.

Through nights like tonight I held her in my arms.
I kissed her and kissed her under endless skies.

She loved me then, and sometimes I loved her back.
How could I not love her giant, still eyes?

Tonight I can write the most sorrowful lines.
I can think I’m not holding her. I can regret that I lost her.

I can hear the vast night, still vaster without her.
And the words settle on my soul like dew on the pasture.

It doesn’t matter that my love couldn’t keep her.
The night is star-filled and she is not with me.

That’s all that matters. Someone is singing far away. Far away.
My soul cannot be content, because I have lost her.

As if they could bring her near, my eyes try to find her.
My heart searches for her, and she is not with me.

The same nightfall whitening the same trees.
But we have both changed so much since that night.

Surely I no longer love her, but how I once loved her.
My voice sought the wind to touch her hearing.

Another’s. She will be another’s. As before I had kissed her.
Her voice, her pale body. Her endless eyes.

Surely I no longer love her, but maybe I love her.
Love is so short; memories last so long.

Because through nights like tonight I held her in my arms,
my soul cannot be content, because I have lost her.

Even if this is the last pain she makes me suffer,
and this is the last poem that I write for her.

English translation by Charles W. Johnson.

Hoy, por casualidad, me he reencontrado con esta preciosidad. Antes de ir a dormir, leamos esta maravilla de Pablo Neruda (Veinte poemas de amor y una canción desesperada).

XX

Puedo escribir los versos más tristes esta noche.

Escribir, por ejemplo: “La noche está estrellada,
y tiritan, azules, los astros, a los lejos.”

El viento de la noche gira en el cielo y canta.

Puedo escribir los versos más tristes esta noche.
Yo la quise, y a veces ella también me quiso.

En las noches como ésta la tuve entre mis brazos.
La besé tantas veces bajo el cielo infinito.

Ella me quiso, a veces yo también la quería.
Cómo no haber amado sus grandes ojos fijos.

Puedo escribir los versos más tristes esta noche.
Pensar que no la tengo. Sentir que la he perdido.

Oír la noche inmensa, más inmensa sin ella.
Y el verso cae al alma como al pasto el rocío.

Qué importa que mi amor no pudiera guardarla.
La noche está estrellada y ella no está conmigo.

Eso es todo. A lo lejos alguien canta. A lo lejos.
Mi alma no se contenta con haberla perdido.

Como para acercarla mi mirada la busca.
Mi corazón la busca, y ella no está conmigo.

La misma noche que hace blanquear los mismos árboles.
Nosotros, los de entonces, ya no somos los mismos.

Ya no la quiero, es cierto, pero cuánto la quise.
Mi voz buscaba el viento para tocar su oído.

De otro. Será de otro. Como antes de mis besos.
Su voz, su cuerpo claro. Sus ojos infinitos.

Ya no la quiero, es cierto, pero tal vez la quiero.
Es tan corto el amor, y es tan largo el olvido.

Porque en noches como ésta la tuve entre mis brazos,
mi alma no se contenta con haberla perdido.

Aunque éste sea el último dolor que ella me causa,
y éstos sean los últimos versos que yo le escribo.

Picture

And this wonderful song. Good Night! Y esta maravillosa canción. ¡Buenas noches!

M/

 

 

This entry was posted in culture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

