Danish Pepper Nuts

Collages4

It all started when a girl at school, Anna, asked me to try a small biscuits she had baked. “They are called Pebernodder and they are typical Danish Christmas biscuits”- she said. I loved them so much that I knew that I wanted to bake them myself and have loads of them🙂 So I asked her for the recipe.

And here you have my first batch. The original recipe is from here but I have made some little changes: I added a tea spoon of Jamaican pepper and 2 table spoons of milk.

Todo empezó cuando Anna, una chica que estudia en la escuela, me dio a probar unas pequeñas galletas que ella misma había preparado. “Se llaman Pebbernodder y son las típicas galletas danesas de Navidad”- dijo. Me gustaron tanto que le pedí la receta para poder hacerlas yo misma y comer un montón de ellas🙂

Aquí tenéis mi primera horneada. La receta original la podéis encontrar aquí. Yo hice dos pequeñas modificaciones: añadí una cucharadita de pimienta de Jamaica y dos cucharadas de leche.

Collages2

Collages5Encouraged by the success that the Danish biscuits had at home, I decided to bake another Scandinavian Christmas biscuits (also given by a student at school 3 years ago) called Pepparkakor. This time fron Sweden. Since I just have a pice of papper with no reference to its source, I will write down the recipe for you in case you want to bake them yourselves.

Pepparkakor

  • 200gr butter
  • 5 dl castre sugar
  • 1 dl golden syrup
  • 2 dl water
  • 1 tablespoon each of ground ginger, cinnamon and cloves
  • 2 teaspoon of cardamom
  • 1 tablespoon baking soda
  • 15 dl all purpose flour

Mix butter, sugar, golden syrup and water. Mix herbs and baking soda with flour. Mix everything all together. Dough should be left at least overnight in the fridge. Bake for 5- 7 minutes at 200 degrees.

Muy contenta del éxito que las galletitas danesas tuvieron en casa, me animé a preparar otras galletas navideñas. Esta vez de Suecia y también con receta que una estudiante de la escuela me dio hace ya tres años. Todo un éxito también las pepparkakor.

Collages1

Collages3

At home our favorites were the Danish ones. If you bake them yourselves, let me know which ones have been your favorite. This lillte cookie monster could not stop eatig them!

En casa nuestras favoritas han sido las danesas. Si os animáis a hacerlas, ya me diréis cuáles son vuestras favoritas. Mi pequeño monstruo de las galletas estaba encantado con tanta galleta…

M/

unnamedPic taken by Ekaterina McKie

 

This entry was posted in Food&Cook, Liam's, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Danish Pepper Nuts

  1. carolina says:

    holaaa , a probarlas de hacer y a ver que tal ! ya te digo cosas !! tienen una pintaaaa, y mi pequeño Liam a tope con el TATE!!

Leave a Reply

